Make your own free website on
   Dewan Ulamak
   Dewan Pemuda
   Dewan Muslimat


Halaman ini diterbit 
Lujnah Penerangan Dewan Pemuda PAS Sabah. 
 No. 10, Lorong 14, Kg. Sembulan 
88100 Kota Kinabalu Sabah.  
The Sabah Legislative Assembly dissolved

Monday, Feb 22, 1999

KOTA KINABALU, Feb 22 (Bernama) -- The Sabah Legislative Assembly was dissolved today to pave the way for a fresh state election that has been expected for months. 

The announcement of the dissolution by Chief Minister Tan Sri Bernard Dompok at 12.08pm was telecast live over RTM from the state assembly building. 

"I hereby officially declare the dissolution of the Sabah State Legislative Assembly today. All the best," he said. 

Dompok, who is also chairman of the ruling Sabah Barisan Nasional (BN) had earlier met Yang Dipertua Negeri Tun Sakaran Dandai to get his consent to dissolve the 48-seat legislature. 

The dates for the nomination and polling would be fixed by the Election Commission. The previous 1994 election was on Feb 18 and 19, 39 days after the dissolution on Jan 10. 

The current five-year mandate of the assembly ends on March 18. In the previous assembly, the BN held 43 seats while the opposition Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS), four. The remaining one seat was held by an Independent. 

Of the 43 BN seats, Umno had 21, Parti Demokratik Sabah (PDS) (11), Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) (five), Angkatan Keadilan Rakyat (Akar) (three), Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS) (two) and MCA (one). 

Three other BN components -- MIC, Gerakan and Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) -- had no representation in the assembly. Besides the 48 elected seats, the assembly also had six Nominated Assemblymen, three each by BN and PBS. 

The PBS won the last state election with 25 seats for a simple majority but the state government collapsed after only three weeks in power when most of its assemblymen defected to the BN which then formed the state government. -- BERNAMA